Guitar and tatting

Guitar and tatting

I must like being awkward. I enjoy classical guitar, which is not what most people think of when you say ‘I’m a guitar player’. they expect either the ‘um-ching’ of a simple accompaniment or a blistering heavy metal solo. Serious musicians think you’re ‘not quite their type’ and the fans of more popular music don’t know what to do with you either. So there you sit – right between two stools. But I love it.
 
Tatting falls much into the same category. It’s old, not very popular (compare the number of knitting and crochet sites with tatting sites), but it is just something different.
 
Similarities – not as easy as you might think, either one of them – but worth the challenge.
About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Handwork, Life, music, Tatting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guitar and tatting

  1. Clairinette says:

    I guess that despite the fact that it will be a lot easier to “conform” to a norm, I have always enjoyed not so common hobbies: I took up classical guitar as a kid, then horse-riding (astride and aside!) trying many different equestrian disciplines; for a few years i am playing clarinet (started on soprano but now I am playing almost exclusively on bass clarinet), and now tatting.
    One does not choose to be different. It is just happening. I do believe that it is our differences that make us more interesting. 🙂

  2. notewords says:

    I did quite a lot of riding myself when I was younger, mostly jumping and dressage. Never tried side-saddle, although I love the way it looks!

    There are so many interesting things in the world, why stick to the conventional. 😉

Leave a Reply

