Follow the thread

A bit of bragging.

I decided to make a tea shower (net to put over food to keep insects away) for my nephew and his wife as a house warming gift when they moved into their own home.

Butterflies all in a row

Sewing them onto the net was worse than tatting them. There has to be a better system…

Butterfly Edging

Tatted bookmarks for someone who helped me to get the fine coloured threads that I can’t find around here.

Bookmarks – with coloured thread Size 20

This doily is still a work-in-progress.

Doily – Work-in-progress

 

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Gifts, Handwork, Humour, Life, Tatting, traditions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Follow the thread

  1. Fiona T says:

    I’m not sure if this would work on netting, but I tat hanky edgings straight onto the hanky, simply join to the edge of the cloth as you would join picots. It might be really fiddly with that size netting though. It was worth the effort, well done on all of your pieces!

  2. Lovely even tatting. Hemming overstitch seems to work for me but the biggest problem I found is the lack of weight in either the fabric or edging that makes it so awkward. I once used a frame set up (very gentle pressure so as not to stretch anything) just to hold the items together for short lengths and found that the time it took to move the items on in the frame was well worth not having sweating, aching hands. Your work all looks so lovely – so balanced and clean.

    Because of the sweaty hands prob, in the end I cheated for the ones we still use and did crochet into the edge of layers of net and used beads as weights on the edges for the food anti-fly covers.

  3. I guess I’m just given to holding things too tightly or for too long or end up that way when concentrating. Messy, is what I am 🙂

  4. I love the butterflies – they look so beautiful on there!

Leave a Reply

