At the Short End.

Being short is not particularly funny, although a lot of people see it that way – usually the ones looking down on us, both literally and metaphorically. It is the daily irritation of not being able to reach things and having most men’s second shirt button at eye level. Once my son grew to be taller than I was, he thought it hilarious. I grumbled that now only the dog was shorter than I and the reply was, “Not if she stands on her hind legs!”.

Because I hear so many ‘short’ jokes (often the same ones, over and over…), I try to have a collection of comebacks such as “Quality, not quantity”and “Good things (or dynamite) come in small packages”.

A South African one is “Khaki bush (Tall, smelly weed) also grows tall.” My son thoroughly enjoys the fact that he is a head taller than I am. I used this one on him once and he looked me up and down and said, “Yes, Mom. But you’re a Bonsai.” He still calls me Bonsai if he wants to annoy me!

A couple of other comebacks for anyone who might find them useful.

“I’m not short, I’m concentrated awesome.”

My favorite! “God makes sure everyone grows until they are perfect. Some of us just get there sooner than most.”

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in humor, Humour, Life, short people, vertically challenged and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to At the Short End.

  1. I like the “concentrated awesome”. I’ll definitely use that one!

  2. Lucie Winborne says:

    How about “I’m long enough to reach the ground”?

  3. Clairinette says:

    Love the last one. 😉

Leave a Reply

