That’s Write; A Tat or Two!

I’m getting ready to send off a few more queries. So far I’ve had one thanks-but-no-thanks and a deathly hush from one who said no answer in a month means no thanks. It’s about a week before the month is up, so I’m assuming it’s a rejection. I’d better get a few more queries out there.

It’s a little tricky (and time consuming) that no two agents have identical submission requirements. One wants twenty pages and no synopsis, another wants a one page synopsis and ten pages… You get the drift. I’m thinking I’ll stay away from the ‘no reply’ ones for the moment. I’d rather get a reply, even if it basically says ‘buzz off’.

In between searching for merciful-looking agents, I finished up a few tatting projects.

Mary Konior's Primrose Path

Mary Konior’s Primrose Path

I was given some fancy scarf wool last year as a birthday present. I eventually finished the scarf and decided to add a few tatted butterflies.

Butterfly Scarf

Butterfly Scarf

A little mini-kaleidoscope of butterflies. The only trouble is they tend to hook onto things. I have a much more sensible scarf, but I’ll stick to the trouble-hunting butterflies.

Mary Konior Large Cross in 100 thread.

Mary Konior Large Cross in 100 thread.

I made this as a gift. I actually like the 100 thread, although it can be a pig. I was going along quite happily when I found a single knot in the ball thread. I have no idea how it got there and couldn’t get it loose. I ended up having to cut the thread and rejoin. It’s not obvious, but I know it’s there…

For anyone who wants to see the difference between 20 thread (the blue cross) and 100. It’s the same pattern in both crosses – the blue one is 16 cm long.

Crosses in 100 and 20 thread.

Crosses in 100 and 20 thread.

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Gifts, Handwork, humor, Humour, Life, Motivation, Rejection, Shuttle Tatting, Submitting, Tatting, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s Write; A Tat or Two!

  1. Cables and Colors says:

    Your tatting is so beautiful. Good luck with your submissions.

  2. Wow, lovely Primrose Path – you’re so speedy! Hang on in there with the agents, all good practise for the right one 🙂

  3. notewords says:

    Thanks! All helpful comments much appreciated 😉

Leave a Reply

