Twisted Tatting

I must be a pig for punishment. I am more-or-less okay with straightforward patterns, even venturing into Catherine Wheel Joins and beaded tatting. Then I discovered Celtic Tatting.

This is my first try.

Sue Hanson's Five Pointed Celtic Motif

Sue Hanson’s Five Pointed Celtic Motif

http://freespace.virgin.net/bo.hanson/Tatting/Celtic5PointMotif/Celtic5PointMotif.html

Not as complicated as it looks, and Sue’s pattern is beautifully clear.

Then I found this – Martha Ess’s Shamrock Wreath.

Shamrock Wreath

http://www.internationaloldlacers.org/MarthaEssPOM/marthaessPOM.html

I fell in love with Ben Fikkert’s Josephine Cross and this is the same feeling.

I may drive myself crazy with all those twists and turns, but I’m going to give it a damn good try.

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Challenges, Handwork, Learning, Life, Motivation, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, work in progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Twisted Tatting

  1. OkeCrafter says:

    Ooh! These look very beautiful. I would love to give these a try some day, but I think I need a bit more experience first. Good luck!

  2. Fiona T says:

    Well done, these look good. I recently received some Celtic shuttles…but have yet to muster the time and courage to try…you are doing great.

  3. Wow – very impressive first try! I’ve yet to tackle this properly. I had a quick go, but at the size thread I used it got really difficult to pass shuttles through things when needed. Are you on Intatters? There could be more patterns and help on there with Celtic tatting, I’ve seen a few people attempt it.

  4. LindaGHill says:

    My mother tried to teach me to tat. She probably doesn’t remember how to do it herself, now. It’s a dying art.

  5. tattedtale says:

    Wow! Beautiful tatting. I haven’t managed to get myself to try celtic yet. I must make a push and get those celtic shuttles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

