Being Nibbled to Death by Ducks…

I know there’s been a deathly hush from this little corner of the internet. It’s been one of those years. First let me say, nothing serious, nothing life threatening. But it just hasn’t stopped!

The ‘nibbled to death by ducks’ is a phrase my mother used when little things kept going haywire. Individually, nothing very serious, but they accumulate until you get a sense of what water torture is supposed to be like.

My tatting is like my writing at the moment – I haven’t stopped, but I’m not getting anything finished either. I’m tatting a bedspread for a miniature doll’s house. Quick little project, I though. Won’t take long, I thought. Yeah. Right. I think the bed is growing. Each time I measure the tatting, there is more to be done. Add to that the fact that the patchy cat sat on the little bed, which now has to be mended.

I’m lucky in that I’m generally very healthy. I don’t often get sick and bounce back quickly when I do. This year I’ve seen the doctor more in the last six months than in the last six years. Again, thank heaven, nothing major. But always something, and my husband and son have also added their contributions.

All this brings to mind an incident that happened more than twenty years ago. We were packing up to come home from a holiday at the coast. An elderly man who we had seen around a few times stopped to chat. My husband heaved in the last case and said “Well, all good things come to an end”.

“Yes,” he replied. “And all bad things too.”

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Animals, Cats, Challenges, Handwork, Health, humor, Humour, Life, Memories, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Being Nibbled to Death by Ducks…

  1. Can’t wait to see how your tatting comes out. Please post a photo when you are done. That is one craft I could not master. My Aunt Doris did some beautiful tatting work.

  2. frilka says:

    and so this post ends on a positive … and hopefully the year will too … I will keep my fingers crossed and will keep waiting for the pictures of your lovely tatting … kisses and hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ckendsley says:

    So sorry to hear about all those carnivorous ducks. I certainly hope they return to their normal eating habits very soon, and leave you in the peace you deserve. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I, too, am looking forward to your tatting pictures. It’s one of the few string things I don’t do, and I love seeing others at play with it. Take care of yourself.

  4. Also v sorry to hear about the nibbles – very lowering! Can’t wait to see the bedspread tho. All of you keep well, the year is turning – onwards and upwards ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Stay sane
    all things pass in time
    thanks for liking our adventures

  6. fabrickated says:

    I love that expression about being nibbled by ducks. They are quite scary actually and it would be a horrible way to die. Also I have enjoyed tatting too, and look forward to reading more about it. I liked the satisfying little click as each knot is made.

  7. Lucie Winborne says:

    Sure hope things take an upswing for you all. And I like that man’s attitude! I’ll try to remember that phrase.

  8. olganm says:

    I also love the expression and know the feeling well. Sometimes nothing seems to be well. It’s the miniature disasters that I love in KT Tunstall’s song…:)

Leave a Reply

