Happy Tattiversary to me!

Digging through some old images on my computer (anything rather than doing something constructive) I realised that it is three years since I started tatting. It’s surprising how much I’ve done in these years. I love it, but I don’t spend every waking minute at it. My tatting bag does come with me wherever I go – it’s so small it fits easily into my handbag – and it’s surprising how those spare minutes add up.

It does amuse me when people take one look at what I’m doing and say ‘I don’t have the patience for that’. I don’t have the patience to sit and do nothing while I’m waiting. It is also possible to tat standing in a queue!

There are some patterns that are great for ‘carry-around’ work. Simple enough to pick up and put down without losing your place or making a catastrophic mistake. Others – the Celtic Shamrock pattern comes to mind – are intricate enough that I can’t even have the TV on while I’m working.

The decision to try tatting is one I don’t think I’ll even regret. And it was just a random thought ‘gosh, that looks lovely. I wonder how you do it?’

Beginning Pieces

Beginning Pieces

Mary Konior's Primrose Path

Mary Konior’s Primrose Path

Mary Konior 'Goody Two Shoes' for my great-niece

Mary Konior ‘Goody Two Shoes’ for my great-niece

Completed Pot Plant

Completed Pot Plant

Pattern at homemadebymeta.blogspot.nl June 2013

Butterfly Edging

Butterfly Edging

Ben Fikkert's Jospehine Cross

Ben Fikkert’s Jospehine Cross

I will put up all the photos on my Tatted Threads page.

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Challenges, Handwork, humor, Humour, Learning, Life, Memories, Motivation, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Tattiversary to me!

  1. frilka says:

    I was intrigued by the same question – I don’t do as much as I would have liked…maybe one day …so what’s your current project? 🙂

  2. frilka says:

    ooooppppssss…… forgot to say …Happy Tattiversary! x

    • notewords says:

      Thanks! 😉
      At the moment I’m making a bedspread for a miniature dolls’ house. But either the bed is getting bigger or my tatting is getting smaller… I just don’t seem to get done (that what I get for using 100 thread). I will post a picture of it.

  3. Happy Tattiversary! It’s such a beautiful art. A friend of my mother’s tried to teach me to tat when I was about 10 years old. But at 10 years old, I never sat still long enough to pursue anything like that! 🙂

  4. fabrickated says:

    That is an impressive body of work. I love the plant – so luxurious. As for the bus stop I stand on one leg to improve balance and strengthen core muscles! Don’t like to waste a moment.

  5. Gwen Tuinman says:

    When I was a little girl, my grandmother taught me to tat. I’ve often thought I’d like to try again. You’ve motivated me to take that first step of purchasing a shuttle and trying again. Thank you for that 🙂

  6. olganm says:

    I must confess not having heard about tatting. I’m a crochetter (who hasn’t crochetted for a long while though). I’ve always been fascinated by lace-making but never was in the right place at the right time to learn. I’ll have to investigate this more. It looks fascinating.

  7. RAB says:

    Very lovely work. I went through at tatting phase awhile ago that lasted five years and produced some elaborate table covers and a blouse for my sister with multiple inset bands. Now you make me want to start up again!

  8. notewords says:

    Do try. Tatting is taking off in a big way and there are loads of resources out there. I want to try needle and bobbin lace as well. Pig for punishment… 😉
    Here are a couple of links.
    http://www.craftree.com – Very helpful tatting community
    http://laceioli.ning.com – All kinds of lace

  9. rethoryke says:

    Splendid work!

Leave a Reply

