A Small Confession…

When I took my first few hesitant steps out onto the Internet, one of the first sites I came across was http://theinfill.wordpress.com/. The blogger is creating – from scratch – a Doll House to die for. The small confession is that I also have a doll house in progress. Note that mine does not rate capital letters. It has been in progress for more than a decade – life keeps getting in the way. Mine compares to hers something like a bicycle to the Space Shuttle.

I plan to use my tatting to create pieces for my doll house that look in scale. I don’t know if I’m succeeding, but at the moment I think either the bed is growing or my tatting is shrinking. There is quite a few month’s work here. The thread size is 100. I should perhaps have used 5. Or started with a doll doily…

Doll House Bedspread

Doll House Bedspread – incomplete

Doll House Bedspread 2

The shuttle gives an idea of the size

I will mention that there is no pattern. Strange things may happen before this is done.

 

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Challenges, Doll House, Handwork, humor, Humour, Learning, Life, Miniature, Motivation, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, work in progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Small Confession…

  1. Fiona T says:

    This is a fabulous piece – sometimes our best ideas are accidental! Looking at the other blog now- amazing stuff. I can’t wait to see yours develop too 🙂

  2. A superb piece of tatting! I love the design – and it’s nearing there, all down slope from here. How have you managed to keep it so beautifully even?
    (Big big thanks for the embarrassing mention – I gave such a shout when I saw it Steve came rushing in to see what was the matter with me 😉 )
    So tell us about the doll’s house, then … 🙂

    • notewords says:

      Thanks so much. 😉

      Your Doll House has always inspired truck loads of envy. I will tell more about mine in another post. Suffice it to say it came bit by bit with a partwork magazine…

  3. … your doll’s house – please.

  4. Mmmm…
    life does get in the way
    I have calculated that an extra hours every day would solve most of my problems AND leave me spare time to be creative

  5. fabrickated says:

    Thank you for showing us this little slice of your dolls house project. I made a quick one once, by going to an evening class for a term, so around 30 hours. It was pretty basic and made to a pattern. Just the house, not the furniture. To be honest I bought the furniture – just chunky blocky stuff, but for my kids to play with rather than for me to treasure. We have an amazing collection of dolls houses in our museums here – at Windsor and at the Museum of Childhood. They are just such wonderful, magical things. We all seem to love miniatures of all sorts, and I suppose tatting lends itself to that. Labour of love.

  6. Pingback: Finally Finished! | notewords

Leave a Reply

