Cosmos, Blackjacks, Tatting and Writing

We’re into autumn here, and these flowers are one of my favourite parts. They tend to grow alongside roads, and it isn’t always easy to get a good photo. As you can see, there isn’t a safe place to pull over. There is a very narrow strip behind the yellow line, and a steep concrete runoff. I got this photo by walking in from the other side – the road runs by a residential area.

Cosmos along the highway

Cosmos along the highway

The pink and white flowers are the most common. The dark colour is much rarer. I stopped alongside another part of the road for this photo – and ended up with blackjacks all over my clothes.

Dark Cosmos

Dark Cosmos

For those fortunate people who don’t know what a blackjack is – or who may call it something else – here is a photo.

Blackjack closeup

The black heads are made up of clusters of little splinters with tiny spikes on one end. They are evolved to catch onto animals’ coats and be carried to other areas to drop off and spread. Works just as well hooking onto clothing and a real nuisance to get rid of. Brushing – and picking – them off at home is a Bad Idea. you will soon have blackjacks in your garden.

I haven’t done much posting lately, but have been busy with tatting – successful and otherwise. Photos are in the pipeline.

I have even been getting some writing done! I have been going low tech and writing by hand. This is because an A4 pad does not contain the internet… I have actually got more writing done in the last week than in the last few years! Updates to follow. 😉

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Animals, Cars, Challenges, Driving, Handwork, humor, Humour, Lacemaking, Life, Motivation, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, Tatting, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cosmos, Blackjacks, Tatting and Writing

  1. Fiona T says:

    Beautiful wild flowers 🙂 When I am writing I try and turn off the internet, email and phone so I can just focus on the word doc I type into. We do ‘shut up and write’ sessions at work, with 25 minute blocks of focused writing- almost anything can wait for 25 minutes 😉 Glad paper is working for you too…I am just very good at misplacing paper 🙂

  2. fabrickated says:

    I have never heard of blackjacks before. Thanks for the tip about not bringing the little blighters home. Glad the tatting and writing are going well.

  3. ckendsley says:

    Awesome hearing about you writing again! I love working with my fountain pen and good paper – nothing like the feel of it. I hope it brings you continued motivation. And lovely flowers, too!

  4. Juuust as I was thinking ‘what’s a blackjack?’ I scroll down to the answer 🙂
    Glad to hear you’ve been tatting – will be nice to see some photos. And well done for writing too. I still like pen and paper at times, but silence is the thing for me. Not sure if it would still be too distracting, but there are quite a few ‘distraction free’ writing apps, did you know? Just did a quick google and there’s a list of some here: http://john.do/writing-apps/ (Your milage may vary).

    • notewords says:

      Depending on what I am writing, sometimes it has to be quiet. For me the first draft is the difficult one – like hacking into granite. After that it’s easier and I can ignore noise. Thanks for the link!

  5. jeanweaves says:

    Your photos of Cosmos brightened my day–spring is struggling to break out here. We had snow flurries yesterday and today it’s only around 40 degrees. But there’s hope–and flowers blooming somewhere in the world! Looking forward to your tatting pictures!

  6. Congrats with the writing – paper, eh? That some new-fangled thing?

  7. Bring back paper, ink and beautiful pens I say…………

  8. Ginny says:

    Beautiful pictures of the flowers. I have never heard of blackjacks. I wonder if we have those in Michigan??? I will have to check it out. Good warning about not bringing them home. That would be awful to have those growing in your yard or garden.

  9. snowygrounds says:

    Hi, notewords – thank you very much for sending this link and cosmos flower power XD And I see the blackjacks (I’ve never seen them either) have quite the power of their own… better stay clear of them! Wish you all the best with your writing and tatting 😉

Leave a Reply

