A Long Tail and a Short One

I undid the mistake in finishing the Cluny Leaf Coaster.

Loose Threads

Loose Threads

Not much to work with… If this had been anything other than a practise piece, I would have picked back through the chain and the ring, rejoined and finished properly. As it was, I made a knot and pulled the threads through the stitches. I generally don’t like hiding the ends like this. I’d rather sew them in.

Here are both of them. The pattern isΒ here. I like the technique, and will probably do more of these. Until the leaves are more even…

Cluny Coasters Mimi Dillman Pattern

Cluny Coasters
Mimi Dillman Pattern

By the way, I finally got a reply from Hodderscape. Thanks, but no thanks. But I did make it into the final 600 of 1 500 submissions.

A local publisher has a competition that closes at the end of April. I have a manuscript that fits the criteria. Am I a pig for punishment, or what?

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Challenges, Handwork, Lacemaking, Life, practice, Rejection, Shuttle Tatting, Submitting, Tatting, Tatting, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Long Tail and a Short One

  1. thebiasedge says:

    I have yet to try cluny tatting. To me that is advance technique. I am only at split chain level. LOL.
    The pattern looks short. Even if I am to struggle with it, I will only be for a short while before it is completed. I might give it a try… but first I have to refer to YouTube for tutorials..

  2. LiisaMaarit says:

    Gorgeous – congratulations! I’ll have to give the cluny a try too, looks so pretty πŸ™‚ Liisa xx

  3. hbsuefred says:

    Major accomplishments in both endeavors. Even if desired end result not yet achieved, or not achieved to personal standards, there is value in the attempt. Congratulations and best of luck.

  4. Uschi says:

    My mum used to do these things, I have never understood how you can do such delicate work at an advanced age. Very nice!

  5. I’m amazed how uniform the stitches are. My mom recently told me that my great aunt tatted. I think she stitched on paper and sent them as greeting cards – is that even possible?

  6. interesting pattern.

  7. D J Mills says:

    Beautiful! Well done with the fix. πŸ™‚
    Also, good luck with the story. Until you submit, you won’t be able to sell, so submit. If not takers, you can always Indie publish like I do. πŸ™‚

    • notewords says:

      Thanks. Quite a few people have suggested indie publishing. It just depends on how much marketing one has to do. I’m not a great pusher.

      • D J Mills says:

        I do zero marketing. Don’t understand twitter, do not use facebook, instagram, etc. do not pay for ads on any web sites, magazines, etc. Do not pay for reviews. πŸ˜‰
        I keep busy writing, creating covers, working out interesting blurbs, editing, formatting for eBooks and print books, and getting up on distributor sites.
        And in my spare time, tat, sew, knit, crochet or do some housework. πŸ™‚
        Always happy to discuss processes via email, so as not to bore your tatting visitors. πŸ™‚

      • notewords says:

        Thanks! That sounds far more what I could do.

  8. joey says:

    Oh my! I can’t imagine doing anything so detailed! I’m impressed!
    Good luck with your manuscript! πŸ™‚

  9. Sandy says:

    Looks good to me.

Leave a Reply

