Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny

I’ve been trying my hand at miniature tatting.

Tablecloth

Tablecloth

This is in 100 thread. I have tried 120, but find it breaks too easily, even using thread conditioner. The thread isn’t the six strand, mercerised I usually use, but I can’t find it in finer sizes.

Tablecloth on table

Tablecloth on table

I am – very slowly – working on a doll’s house, and I thought some fine tatting would add to the effect. Fabrics don’t scale down well, unfortunately.

Motif with clock

Motif with clock

An ornament that I couldn’t resist…

Cat with Fishbowl

Cat with Fishbowl

A really tiny one.

Itsy bitsy...

Itsy bitsy…

And my manuscript is being submitted to the competition by the end of the week!

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Challenges, Doll House, Handwork, humor, Humour, Lacemaking, Life, Miniature, miniature tatting, Rejection, Shuttle Tatting, Submitting, Tatting, Tatting, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny

  1. Lovely, really lovely πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful! I have always wanted to try tatting and lace making with bobbins but can’t imagine making so small and pretty!

  3. foguth says:

    That is AMAZING! Your eyes are obviously much better than mine… I’ve needed reading glasses since grade school.

  4. thebiasedge says:

    I have neglected tatting for a while. Your post inspires me to get back to tatting. Beautiful

  5. Oh my gosh! You are so talented! Those are incredible! So perfect for a doll house.

  6. So dear! I have a passion for working teeny tiny, so I LOVE your miniature tatting!

  7. D J Mills says:

    I commented but it disappeared into space, so will try again.
    Lovely tatting and suits the tiny furniture. πŸ™‚

  8. Sandy says:

    WOW! How do you do it?

  9. Imelda says:

    So so exquisite. πŸ™‚

  10. Leslie says:

    Just a note of thanks for ‘liking’ my blog.
    I have a few samples of my grandmother’s tatting – nothing that small!
    I’ve never tried tatting, it’s kinda intimidating to me.
    Your samples are delightful.

    • notewords says:

      Thanks. It’s not as complicated as it looks. I found it absolutely addictive.
      πŸ˜‰
      Any chance of seeing your grandmother’s tatting?

      • Leslie says:

        Hers is very simple, mainly straight rows to put on a pillowcase. I’d be happy to post pictures when I can find some tatting. We moved and some things are still stored in boxes.
        Thanks for the idea for another post about Grandma.

      • notewords says:

        Looking forward to it. πŸ˜‰

  11. Carol says:

    Now THIS takes patience! I’ve always admired tatting, but had not the patience nor dexterity for it. Beautiful work and looking forward to seeing more.

  12. yumi says:

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe this! Such a talent!!! Thank you for sharing!!!! This is must amazing! Wow!

  13. So lovely! And so nice to make use of tatting! Looks like the perfect fit.

  14. Oh, such very tiny tatting! Beautiful!

  15. I think tatting is so beautiful! Good luck with everything. Oh, and I really do like your cat with the fish bowl! LOL!

  16. These are beautiful….i havent ever tried tatting. ..this looks exquisite. ..great work πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

