Popping Pills…

Happy New Year to everyone, and all the best for 2017.

Yes, I know it’s almost the end of January. I didn’t want to get lost in the wave of New Year’s greetings. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it)

No ironing today

No ironing today

Caesar is still soldiering on. He had some problems a few weeks ago – he was getting very clumsy and confused. I thought we were going have to put him down. I ended up taking him to a different vet, who put him onto medication. I’m glad to say there has been a considerable improvement. He has eye-drops, which are fine. He has various liquids, which are fine. He also has various tablets, which are… not fine.

I came across thisΒ while looking for help on administering pills. It was no help with pill popping, but good for a giggle or two. (I inserted a link, but it seems to keep disappearing – the website isΒ http://www.pawsperouspets.com/humor/catpill.shtml)

Caesar is coping pretty well on the whole, although we do have to watch him.

I haven’t been doing much tatting – life getting in the way. I need a nice project. I’m not one for the huge doilies – I know it will never be used and I’m not putting all that work and time into something that will go into a cupboard, never to see the light of day again.

I also promised my husband a knitted jersey…

 

 

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Animals, Cats, Challenges, Handwork, humor, Humour, Knitting, Life, Lolcats, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, Tatting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Popping Pills…

  1. Kat L. says:

    So glad that the new vet could help Ceasar! I hope the new medications will work for as long as needed. Fingers crossed!
    I had a good laugh at the pills administering advice πŸ˜‰ So true! I’ve been through this recently with Stella – after a real fight, one torn pair of leggings and a few deep scratches I found the pill on the floor the next day… And it happened twice during her 1 week long treatment.
    Also, I can relate to the doily issue… I don’t really use them, which is a pity, because crocheting them is fun. And I can’t work on something that would only stay on the shelf without any use.

    • notewords says:

      I’ve seen a crochet pattern that looked like a giant doily that one could wear! Very beautiful. I wouldn’t try to tat one though. πŸ˜‰
      They can put a man on the moon, one would think there would be a better way to medicate a feline…

  2. Happy to hear Ceasar is doing better. The “Pill” article is hysterical! Thanks for the laugh.
    I found the 2-person system is the best way to give a cat a pill —
    1. Make sure the cat’s claws have been trimmed, and wrap the cat in a towel if necessary. Someone else holds the cat by the scruff of the neck for a minute or more, cradling the cat in his arms. This will release endorphins and calm the cat.
    2. Keeping a firm grip on the pill, dip it in cooking oil.
    3. Open the cat’s mouth (pressing the cheeks together at the same time if necessary) and get the pill as far back to the throat as possible.
    4. Close the cat’s mouth quickly and keep it closed; stroke the cat’s throat and don’t let the cat go until he swallows.
    5. If this fails, you can get chew treats at the pet stores that sedate the cat, which should help. Then again, maybe this should be the first thing you do!

  3. Glad to hear you still have the little escape artist. The article was hilarious about administering pills. I think we have all been there. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  4. joey says:

    I’m glad you’re seeing some improvement. May it continue.

  5. earthbalm says:

    Hope Caesar stays well. Giving a cat a pill to take is next to impossible.

  6. I’m happy to hear that Caesar is doing much better with his new vet and medication. I love that article. I will do just about anything to avoid having to give any of my cats a pill. I’ve been teaching myself to crochet and done a few things this past month. It’s so fun!

  7. Barbara says:

    I hope Ceaser continues to improve. He looks so comfortable on his blanket.

  8. Barbara says:

    Sorry I spelt Caeser’s name wrong.

  9. daniellajoe says:

    Happy New Year!! 🎊 I am visiting with you today πŸ˜€
    It’s nice to know Caesar is doing much better, and by the way, I have a dog that likes to take pills.. weird huh?? Lol

  10. yumi says:

    I hope he will feel better soon. I am a huge cat person as well and have a male cat too.

  11. Sandy says:

    Sometimes stroking their throat when the pill has been put in the back of the mouth works. They swallow automatically. Glad he’s getting help.

Leave a Reply

