Oh, well…

Caesar is still going along. The one who has been sick is me…

(I’m letting off some steam – feel free to skip the rest of this post if other people’s symptoms bore you)

I don’t often get sick, and normally get over it quickly when I do. This was something else. If you want to confuse a doctor, have a few completely separate things going on at the same time. I got a weird itchy rash. On my back, so I really couldn’t see what was going on. It didn’t seem that bad, so I pretty much ignored it and hoped it would clear up by itself.

Then I had an abscessed tooth that was bad enough to be painful right into the ear and running temperatures of 39 degrees. Then have an allergic reaction to the medication for pain and inflammation. Yes, it is possible to have two different rashes at the same time. Incidentally, the first rash was shingles… Note to self, do not ask husband if you have a rash. He will say ‘yes’ and not elaborate. I only managed to get a look when my son took a photo. Wow.

Then wake up in the middle of the night with a numb, burning pain down your left arm and into your hand… Four a.m. and I am looking up the symptoms of a heart attack.

Some x-rays later it seems the problem is coming from my neck, exacerbated by the shingles. Two weeks later and I still have numbness in two fingers of my left hand. I’m a guitarist. My left hand is important! And it feels a little slow and stupid as well. And I can’t take the !@#&* pain-and-inflammation medication because I am allergic.

All tatting is on stop. Even driving was challenging. Try driving with numbness going down your arm.

Things have improved somewhat. At least I can drive again. But those numb fingers are driving me nuts!

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Cats, Challenges, Handwork, Health, humor, Humour, Lacemaking, Life, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, Tatting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Oh, well…

  1. Hang in there – it will get better. But can’t they give you a different pain medication, considering how many pain killers are available? I’ll say a little prayer for you tonight!

    • notewords says:

      If I understand things correctly, there is inflammation, which is putting pressure on the nerve, which is causing the numbness.
      I can’t feel the middle and ring fingers from the first joint to the tips. It’s not very painful, but the fingers aren’t working as they should.
      All thoughts and prayers appreciated! πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh you poor thing. Shingles is not funny. I worked in dentistry and an abscessed tooth is right up there in the high pain level. And now your numbness and allergies. Maybe we could get together. I have numbness in both legs and back pain worse than a tooth ache. Have been immobile for a week. Just wasted time on back X-rays and now off to pain management to find out if I have a bulging disk. I too don’t have the time for illness especially when it cuts into my hobbies!! 😦
    Hang in there and if Caesar can do it so can you! πŸ™‚

  3. Imelda says:

    I hope you get well soon.

  4. Wow. That’s a lot going on there. I sure hope you feel better soon!

  5. thebiasedge says:

    Oh dear. Shingles is painful and with fever, it is double whammy. Please rest well. Praying that you have a speedy recovery, especially with your numbness.

  6. joey says:

    OH I’m so sorry to read this. Sometimes there is nothing worse than when one thing is another thing and the things keep piling on. I understand that totally.
    I react to NSAIDS with numbness and tingling and rash, so I get that, too.
    My husband had to have spinal fusion to fix his pain, tingling, and numbness and I know how much pain he was in, so I really do feel badly for you, and hope you get some relief soon.

  7. ckendsley says:

    How frustrating! As a musician myself I sympathize. I hope a speedy recovery is on it’s way. Take care of yourself!

  8. earthbalm says:

    Get well soon.

  9. Kat L. says:

    Oh no! I hope you get better soon! Be good to yourself and have some good rest.

  10. yumi says:

    Get well soon!!!!!

  11. D J Mills says:

    I also wish you a quick recovery, and hope the numbness disappears soon. πŸ™‚

  12. Bessie V says:

    Really sorry about what you’re going through! Hope you get well soon. Sending lots of love your way!

  13. KnottyMay says:

    I hope you get better soon. It looks like this winter isn’t being kind to anyone. My son was at day care for one week this year. Rest of the time we’ve both been ill.

  14. Hope you feel better soon 😦

  15. Sandy says:

    Sounds like you have had a awful time. Stress over your kitty probably lower your immune system. Hope you are getting better.

  16. Oh my gosh! You are really having a time! I do all your symptoms go away and you can get back to normal. Prayers for a quick recovery.

  17. Oh blithering blazes! Were you going for the record? Not a bundle of laughs but (as one who runs a horribly similar checklist) hateful and frustrating as it is, some bits pass sooner than others and yet others have comings and goings. Well, you know all this and it does get better and above all your sense of well-being will improve – promise! Slowly, slowly I’m afraid – hugs and all good wishes

  18. Rough stuff, I agree with the above that stress and worry lowers the immune system and lots of weird things happen.
    I had pretty much the same in 2007 when I had way too much on my plate. Get well soon

  19. Sorry to hear about the things you’re going through now. Praying it will pass quickly and all will be well. My doctor has been pushing me to get the shingles vaccine. Your talk of shingles has pushed me over the edge of hesitation. I guess I’ll stop procrastinating. Get well soon.

  20. I hope you’re feeling better!

  21. Leah says:

    I hope you are feeling much better now, it must be all the stress, please get well soon ! Big hugs to you and your little furry treasure Caesar ❀

  22. Hoping you are feeling tons better…wishing you all the best.

  23. I’m a bit late to the party. Hoping you’re back to normal by now and can do your favourite activities again. My mom and grandma both had shingles. They said it was really itchy.

  24. Sorry to hear you’ve not been well 😦
    Hope you’re feeling the healing today! πŸ™‚ πŸ’œ Jackie@KWH

Leave a Reply

