Medication frustration

For all those who have ever had trouble popping a pill…

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Image result for frustration cartoon child proof

My eyes no longer work too well…
I cannot read small print;
I don’t know where my glasses are
And always have to squint.

My hands, of course, are even worse,
My fingers ache and swell,
Arthritis, past its sell-by date,
Is putting them through hell.

Now factor in an RSI,
Because I type too much,
Then add a dodgy back and stuff…
I wince with every touch.

And so to get some small relief
To bottles, I retreat,
Not gin, though with the child-proof caps
On pills, I’d drink it neat!

It’s age-discrimination
When they proof the pots for kids,
‘Cause when your hands are playing up,
You can’t take off the lids.

Though some pills come all wrapped in foil
That’s fine and dandy, but…
As soon as you begin to rip
The stuff, you end up cut.

So, reaching for the first aid kit
You rummage for…

View original post 156 more words

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Medication frustration

  1. foguth says:

    Plastic is either a lot stronger than it was a couple decades ago or I’m weaker…. Getting ‘child-proof-caps’ off bottles is extremely difficult.

    • notewords says:

      Oh yes. I have used pliers in the past. Mostly I tip the medication into another container – along with any ‘keep it dry’ sachets – and write the name on the outside.

      • foguth says:

        Our pharmacist now gives me caps for arthritis sufferers, but they can be a mega challenge, too. And it’s not just medication… week before last, I couldn’t get the top open on our new Lysol toilet cleaner – tried for days, then finally asked my husband to please help… he took it to the garage and literally cut off the locking mechanism.

      • notewords says:

        They have a really unreal idea of how strong people’s hands are… 😉

      • foguth says:

        They sure do! Want to hear a bizarre, but true, story? An acquaintance can’t get those child-proof caps open on her 4-year-old’s vitamins, BUT the kid has no problem opening the caps!

      • notewords says:

        I’ve heard that before – although not so young (evidence that kids are getting smarter…) 😉
        I know when my son was around 7 he never had a problem and was the official medicine-container-opener.

      • foguth says:

        I don’t know if kids are smarter, stronger or more coordinated, but those caps are certainly more difficult to open!

  2. Sue Vincent says:

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 I have seen videos of how to get the ruddy tops off when they don’t want to open, but I find a saw the best way 😉

  3. Sandy says:

    Too true. The only ones who can open child proof lids are children.

Leave a Reply

