Left, write, left, write…

Titch on keyboard

No write today!

My writing is still going steadily. Despite Titch’s efforts to the contrary. ๐Ÿ˜€

Just putting one word after the other.

Not that I don’t have bad days, and even on a good day I often end up with less words than I started with. A lot of the writing advice I see says you shouldn’t edit as you go, but that’s the way I’ve always done it – even when I wrote in longhand.

Something else weird. I’m playing music, much more than usual. My left hand gives me a lot of pain, so I can’t play the more difficult guitar pieces, but I’ve been playing keyboard – which doesn’t hurt, funnily enough. Probably because I’m not at the same level.

I’m thinking that for me there is a strong connection between music and writing. When I was having some success writing a number of years ago (Some magazine articles and stories published, and my book) I was also still going to my guitar teacher in Johannesburg and obviously playing a lot of new music. It’s not a connection I’ve made before.

As a teacher, I play to demonstrate, and that’s never stopped, but working on something new and playing for pleasure seems to be what makes the difference.

A number of other writers I’ve known were also creative in other ways. A friend of mine teaches dance. Her pupils do very well – she always says she doesn’t take any pupil whose mother wants to dance… She has had a number of books published locally.

Another member of our (now defunct) writing group also painted.

Handwork, on the other hand (sorry, couldn’t resist that) works better for me as a calming down and relaxing time. If I’ve had the sort of day when I want to bite pieces out of the furniture, watching TV – particularly a movie I’ve watched before and particularly enjoy – and tatting or knitting for an hour or so can calm me right down.

This is all purely personal, but I’d be interested to hear if any other writers out there have similar experiences. Also how many other writers are creative in other ways as well?

 

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges, Guitar, Handwork, humor, Humour, Knitting, Lacemaking, Learning, Motivation, music, Rejection, Shuttle Tatting, Submitting, Tatting, Tatting, Teaching, work in progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Left, write, left, write…

  1. foguth says:

    If you stick with your plan, you will succeed. Don’t worry about editing out huge chunks. When I began writing, I would spend a month writing, then cut out 90%. You see, I was combining writing the rough draft with editing, which are two separate but important aspects. With practice, you will streamline your craft. That said, I also admit that it takes time to figure out what dosen’t need to be written to begin with.

  2. jeanweaves says:

    I’m not a writer (besides short blogs), but my creative impulses do overlap. I weave to sell; I knit, spin, and tat in the evenings as relaxation, and only for family and friends. The pleasure that weaving gives me is the same pleasure I get from knitting a scarf for a daughter or spinning a good skein of yarn. My mother IS a writer by profession, and she also enjoys creative release in handwork, hers being quilting. Then she writes about it!

  3. I love to crochet especially, but also sew – bags, toys, clothes, and decor, knit, mosaic, take photos, scrapbook and make cards, decoupage, colour in (?) and write! I am working on a book of my experiences with animals, domestic and wild. It is on my blog, and it is titled, There’s an Emu in my Garden. Being creative keeps me sane – or not? I love your blog! I’ve wanted to learn to tat for years, you’re inspiring me!

    • notewords says:

      Thanks!
      Give it a try, I warn you it can be addictive! I’ve knitted and done a lot of crochet, but tatting is the one for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I just had another run past your blog, I didn’t realise you are also in South Africa. *waves a small South African flag excitedly*.

  4. ckendsley says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re plugging away at the words. My pages have been blank for months, so it’s inspiring to see someone else on a roll (however bumpy you may think it is). And yes, there is a definite correlation between one creative art form and another, particularly when one form is music. George Hicks of Boston’s NPR station WBUR has an interesting article about it at http://commonhealth.wbur.org/2014/07/music-language-brain.

    I myself have a degree in music and have noodled on instruments since the age of two. I’ve been writing since middle school. I also do cross stitch and embroidery, sew, weave, and draw a little. Because music is very creative as well as very mathematical (i.e., logical), it has the unique ability to open up more parts of the brain than any other art form. Creative expression becomes easier and one’s interests for expression become broader. Each creative form I do serves a slightly different purpose and need for me. Not the least of which is keeping me from boring myself to death!

    Keep at it! The more you do, the more you’ll want to do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. frilka says:

    hello … I am not a writer (except for my blog – somehow I don’t think it counts) but I use my sewing, stitching, quilting, card making, tatting (wish it was more often) and any carftilicious pastimes to relax … cannot live without crafting of a sort …. maybe I just can’t sit still … ๐Ÿ™‚

    • notewords says:

      I certainly think your blog counts. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Craftilicious – what a lovely word! The best thing about crafting is that it gives you something to show for relaxing… Not being able to sit still has its benefits.;-)

Leave a Reply

