Update

Caesar is doing somewhat better. The pathology lab has, however, manage to lose his blood tests. I’ve been waiting for the results since Monday, and now the vet has gone on holiday until after the new year. 😦

There is another vet at the practice, but this is the same one that saw Caesar a week before all the trouble, and said he was fine… These problems have been a long time coming, and he sure as !@#$ wasn’t fine.

Caesar did get a check-up on Thursday before the vet went on holiday, and she was satisfied with his progress, which has to count for something. However, I will be happier once they sort out the blood tests.

In other news, Sparky the Jack Russell has had the world’s worst upset stomach (just finished ten days of antibiotics), and the other cat, Titch, may have tick-bite fever. I have just come back from the vet with her. (A different veterinary practice – things are getting complicated.) Here are a couple of photos – from a while ago. I haven’t been doing much of the happy snaps lately.

Titch making herself comfortable in the car

Titch making herself comfortable in the car

Now we cross all our fingers and toes, and hold thumbs that nothing drastic happens over Christmas and New Year. Because during the festive season no-one wants to know your troubles, even if you are human, never mind an elderly cat or dog. Ho, ho, ho…

Caesar hogging the heater, Sparky out in the cold.

Caesar hogging the heater, Sparky out in the cold.

Tatting has been happening, but at a very slow pace, what with one thing and another. As if I don’t have enough on my plate, I am trying my hand at needle lace. Pictures to follow, if I manage to produce anything worthwhile.

I don’t know about anyone else, but for me 2016 has been hell on wheels. We’ve all been sick, humans and animals, often in batches. They say that all good things come to an end, hopefully all bad things do as well.

Thanks again to everyone who came past with positive messages and good wishes. πŸ˜€

All the best over the festive season, and may the best of 2016 be the worst of 2017.

 

About notewords

Guitarist, Music teacher, Writer
This entry was posted in Animals, Cats, Challenges, Christmas, Creatures, Dogs, Handwork, Health, humor, Humour, Lacemaking, Needle Lace, Shuttle Tatting, Tatting, Tatting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Update

  1. Wow every thing is hitting you at one time. My prayers are with all the little ones hoping they will be with you for a long time. Very frustrating since it seems every thing does happen when the weekend comes .
    Have to tell you I took my Jack Russel into the vet because of a growth on his neck. Turned out it was a tick that was there for over 3 months ! I noticed a small bump early on but thought it was a small tumor. But then it got large overnight. Turned out that the vet removed it and it was dead. It was getting larger because he was getting an infection at the site.I was so relieved because I had the vet give him the Lyme’s disease vaccine about 11 months before because of the increase of the deer coming into our yard.
    Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and keep us updated on your “family”.

  2. Kat L. says:

    So much going on for you… they say misery loves company and it’s so true 😦 But I hope and wish to you that things improve soon!
    My 2016 has been really bad as well. My crocheting was really one of the few positive things that really let me keep any sanity at all. My chronic disease flared up badly, we had work-related and financial issues, news from my home country are terrifying and in general – go away, 2016, and never come back! I’m sorry to hear that things weren’t good for you either…
    But let’s hope that the new year will be better. All the best for you and your loved ones, 2-legged and 4-legged! My fingers are crossed xx

  3. joey says:

    Oh my goodness, it’s like all your babies are sick at once! And you have to wait through the holidays. So dreadful, it must be hard. I’m wishing you all the best.

  4. You are having an ‘orrible stressful basketfull but I reckon that you and your family will make a warm and safe atmosphere together to wrap you all up at this time of anticipating the dropping of other shoe(s). Deep breathing, relaxed shoulders – does it solve anything, well probably not but in that position you rock rather than fall πŸ™‚
    Deep thoughts here with more arms stretching out that all will be well

  5. Leah says:

    Hope all will be well with dear Caesar. Happy Holidays to you, your family and your four-legged babies ! ❀ ❀ ❀

  6. Wishing you and yours all the best this season and with hopes for a MUCH better 2017!

  7. D J Mills says:

    Glad to hear Caesar is improving.
    Yes, 2016 has been a rough year for many friends & acquaintances, myself included.
    I hope everyone has a safe and creative 2017. πŸ™‚

  8. eebeeb says:

    Oh dear, hope everything is getting better and wish you all a Merry Christmas.

  9. Glad to hear some good news!!
    Happy holidays!

  10. ckendsley says:

    Yes, 2016 has definitely been a royal bitch for everyone! So frustrating to see yet another good person and her furbabies having so much trouble. My best wishes for you and yours to all be/get healthy soon, and that 2017 will be much better for all of us. Blessed be!

  11. I’m so sorry you’ve had such bad things with your furry family members. Nothing hurts me worse than when mine are ill. And I’ve had the most horrid, incompetent vets here… So I understand exactly what you mean. Sending good thoughts. May all your favorite dreams come true. Light and hugs.

  12. Yes, 2016 was memorable for all the wrong reasons.
    Let’s hope that it really was the end of a negative cycle and that 2017 will reward the brave and the hopeful.
    And I hope all the animals are OK!

  13. Sandy says:

    Frustrating and big vet bills to add to the pain. I hope they are all well.

  14. Roxie says:

    I’m so sorry, frustration added to worry is difficult. Right there with you on 2016 ending, this has been a horrid year for my family, too!
    I wish all your four-legged family best health, that the vets will experience a miraculous bloodwork recovery, and 2017 comes to us like a lamb. πŸ™‚

  15. So sad to hear about the troubles of your four-legged cuties. 2016 was a difficult year for so many. Wishing your furry family and you a healthy, happy 2017.

  16. tialys says:

    Wishing you and yours – on four legs and two – a much better 2017. Bon courage!

  17. I do hope all of your babies are doing better and that the blood tests for Caesar have been found and that he is being treated. Wishing you and your babies a healthy, happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

